2018: Walkthrough by: Louis Koot

2018: Walkthrough by: Louis Koot

If you have found this walkthrough via google search or via another site then you have  probably not visited my site. 

A lot more very detailed game walkthroughs can be found on my site at:  www.pcgameswalkthroughs.nl

This is the 3rd, and last,  game in the GabriŽl Knight series and it was originally released in 1999. In 2014 the game was re-release via gog.com as a digital download game so I bought it again and it runs fine on my Windows 7 and Windows 8.1 computer. It may be that you miss a directX 9 dll under Win 8.1, but you can find it via the internet. 

The first 2 games in the Gabriel Knight series, are: Sins of the Fathers and The Beast Within. In 2014 Jane Jensen has made, in collaboration with the Phoenix on-line Studio, a complete remake of GabriŽl Knight 1 Sins of the Fathers and released it as Gabriel Knight Sins of the Fathers 20th Anniversary Edition.

Because this is a 3D game it will take some practice to get use to how you move around in the game......I am not going to explain it to you extensively because there is a manual for the game that explains it all perfectly, so read this manual. You can play the game with your computer mouse or with a combination of your mouse and key-board. If you only want to use your mouse then it requires some practice before you get the hang of it

The game is from 1999, so the graphical quality of the so-called 3D environment is as it was in 1999. in 2015 re-release it all looks a bit blocky and blurb, but well ..... if you want superb graphics then you should not play old games on your beautiful new state of the Art computer......

To open the Main Menu screen, right-click anywhere on the screen. You will then see the following screen:

In this screen you open via:

  • A. Inventory. Your inventory where all your stuff is stored.

  • B. Hints. Here you can read hints during the game. But do not imagine too much of it.

  • C/D: Camera settings. Here you can change the camera settings.

  • E. Here you can read how to control the game.

  • F. This takes you to the Options screen where you can set various video and sound settings and where you can save / load and close the game

In "Game Options" you can turn on / off the subtitles and check / uncheck a camera setting

In the game you open with your left mouse the screen where you find the icons for the things you can do in the game, such as: View, Open, Pick up, Talk.......I shall name this screen the 'Action Menu'. Depending on what you can do, you will  find different icons in the ACTION MENU. 

Via the question mark icon  you talk to people. Your conversation topics are then presented in the form of small icons. Always go through all conversation topics completely.

As in the first 2 games of the series, there are points to earn in the game .... I believe that a total of 965 points can be earned. You earn these points by doing the right things in the game. You do not have to get the ideal score to finish the game in the right way. 

The game takes place during 3 days. Every day is sub-divided into various time blocks. You have to do a number of specific tasks in each time block in order to proceed to the next time block. If you do not proceed to the next time block, this means that you have forgotten something essential in the current time block. 

From day 2 you will play alternately as GabriŽl Knight and as Grace Nakimura .... the parts with Grace are much more puzzle oriented than the parts with Gabe, who just does not like that puzzle stuff. Gabe is there for the more dangerous things and to be an arrogant sexist bastard, which is also the case in this game.


When you start the game for the first time you will see the Intro video. During the intro video you also get the credits presented. In the intro video we see a rather groggy Gabe, who arrives, after a long train journey,  in the town of Rennes-Le-Chateau in France.  ..... The station master points our groggy Schattenjšger to the taxi and the hotel and after a good night's sleep we start this 3rd game with:

Chapter 1: Day 1 part 1 Chapter 2: Day 1 part 2
Chapter 3: Day 2 part 1 Chapter 4: Day 2 part 2
Chapter 5: Day 2 Part 3 Chapter 6: Day 3 part 1
Chapter 7: Day 3 part 2 Chapter 8: Day 3 part 3: Ending

2018: Walkthrough by: Louis Koot